Home

**Undergraduate Program** 

**Graduate Program** 

Faculty & Staff

Alumni & Friends

**News & Events** 

Search

Home > News and Events > ME Department Kicks off its Centennial Celebration

## ME Department Kicks off its Centennial Celebration

AUSTIN, TEXAS—October 11, 2013 Photos by Carol Grosvenor and Billy Wood



UT Tower lit with 100 to celebrate anniversary of department. Photo by Senior Lecturer Billy Wood.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering welcomed the arrival of its second century with a series of events and activities to commemorate the occasion and launch a three-year capital campaign. On Thursday, September 19, Dr. Robert Ambrose— a 2013 Distinguished Alumnus, member of the External Advisory Committee (EAC) and Division Chief at NASA—gave the first in a series of Chevron Distinguished Lectures, followed by an afternoon reception. On Friday, the EAC members joined the department for pizza and t-shirts, sporting the new logo for the campaign.

That was followed by a dinner and awards ceremony held at the Bob Bullock Museum. At the dinner, the Distinguished Alumni were awarded certificates. Dr. Michael Webber gave a keynote speech on the history of the department, and Chair Jayathi Murthy, Dean Greg Fenves and alumnus Warren Waggoner (Distinguished Alumnus 2006) also spoke. A birthday cake for the department was presented, and later served the next day at the Tailgate party. After dinner, guests adjourned to the UT Tower, which was lit with 100 in the department's honor. On Saturday afternoon, the department hosted its annual Tailgate party, with BBQ and the Tower cake. Several hundred students, alums, EAC members, Distinguished Alumni, faculty and staff enjoyed the festivities.



The Centennial logo features the three graduates of its first class (then) and a few of its current students (now).



Catherine and Robert Ambrose. Dr. Robert Ambrose received the Distinguished Mechanical Engineer Award.



Sandy and Ken Ball. Dr. Ken Ball received the Honorary Engineer

## Party and Event Photos



Faculty members from the Mechanical Engineering Department. Photographed at the Centennial dinner, September 20, 2013.



Dr. D.K. Ezekoye awarded the Distinguished Engineer Awards. In this photo he is recognizing Michael Shane for the Hall of Fame Award.



Distinguished Alumni and Mechanical Engineer Recipients with Chair Murthy, Dean Fenves and Dean Wood 2013 (I-r): Jayathi Murthy, Greg Fenves, Greg Dekunder, Robert Ambrose, Michael McShane, Denise Elston, Kenneth Ball, Sara Brand, John Howell and Sharon Wood. Learn more.



Kevin and Sarah Brand. **Dr. Sarah Brand** received the Outstanding Young Mechanical Engineer Award.



Staci & Greg DeKunder and Julia & Michael Webber. **Greg DeKunder** received the Distinguished Mechanical Engineer Award. **Dr. Michael Webber** gave the keynote speech.



Denise and Rob Elston with sons Cameron, Spencer and Kendall. **Denise Elston** received the Honorary Mechanical Engineer Award.



John MacArthur, Susan Conway, Lynne Gooch, John Howell and Tom Gooch. **Dr. John Howell** received the Mechanical Engineering Honorary Engineer Award.



Wishing the department a happy 100th birthday were Dean Greg Fenves, student Sarah Miller, Chair Jayathi Murthy, alumnus Sam Zamrik and Professor Emeritus Gary Vliet.



Centennial dinner audience: Robert Marwill (left), Joe Beaman, Lisa Beaman, Jim Reilly (Phillips 66) and Kim Reilly.



Guests mingled in the rotunda before dinner.

Back to previous page





Michael McShane (far right, top row) and wife Susie Madere (bottom row right) with family members: Bottom row, left to right: Amy McShane, Marie McShane, Susie McShane. Top row, left to right: Michael McShane Jr., Joe McShane, John McShane, Patrick McShane. Michael McShane received the Mechanical Engineering Hall of Fame Award.



External Advisory Council member Warren Waggoner and wife Yvonne. Warren served as a speaker at dinner.



Dr. D.K. Ezekoye and acting Dean Sharon Wood



Development officers Bliss Angerman and Kelsey Evans.



Professors Guihua Yu, Arumugam Manthiram, Dave Bourell and S.V. Sreenivasan chat before dinner.



Kenneth Ball (far right, top row and friends): Top row, left to right: Michael Bryant, D.K. Ezekoye, Dave Bogard, Atul Kohli, Michael Alley, Ken Ball. Bottom row, left to right: Funke Ezekoye, Geni Bryant, Karen Thole, Sandy Ball, Liz Bogard. Dr. Ball was received the Honorary Engineer Award.



Kicking off the Centennial events, **Dr. Robert Ambrose** from NASA delivered the first Chevron Distinguished Lecture on Thursday afternoon. Ambrose is also a new member of the External Advisory Committee (EAC) and was selected as a Distinguished Alumnus.



Rogene and Dr. Delbert Tesar



Phil and Donna Schmidt with Donna and Gary Vliet. Drs. Vliet and Schmidt are professor emeriti.



Alumnus Thomas Horner



Senior Lecturer Billy Wood graciously helped with the photography of all these events.



The 2013 External Advisory Committee members with Chair Jayathi Murthy. Left to right: Matt Palmer (Chevron), Kan-Well Wang (University of Michigan), Keller Towns (ExxonMobil), Denise Elston (Shell, retired), Warren Waggoner (Exxon, retired), Chair Jayathi Murthy, Byron Pipes (Purdue University), Leslie Phinney (Sandia National Laboratories), Gene Coffman (Ford), David Morgan (Cameron) and Robert Ambrose (NASA-Johnson Space Center).



Students, faculty, staff and EAC members line up for pizza and t-shirts.



A large crowd enjoyed the 17th annual ME Tailgate on Saturday afternoon before the Kansas State game. The department thanks the generosity of Phillips 66 for underwriting the event.



Bill and Betty Crook with Jayathi Murthy's graduate student Columbia Mishra



Alumnus Dr. Don Berry and IT Manager Peggy Berry



Dr. Thomas Kiehne and Pam Matheson



Alums Jerri Paul and Ken Allen

## Last modified on October 11th, 2013

© 2007-2013 Dept of Mechanical Engineering and Faculty Innovation Center Cockrell School of Engineering | The University of Texas at Austin Privacy Information | Resources for Accessibility Comments: webmaster@me.utexas.edu



News Feed Contact Information Visitor Information UTDirect Login